Farhan Hassan*
Acceptance of Change, the Four Stages

“Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them; that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.”

Lao Tzu 


Change always happens it is an unavoidable constant. Organizations always change and revamp their strategy plan, and employees required to adapt and adjust. Most of the people

go through these four major phases when they are facing the change:

1. Denial phase: 

The most common initial reaction to any change. In the beginning, people may be in shock and defensive concerning the change.

2. Resistance phase: 

In the next phase, people decide to acknowledge its presence but to now resist it. Resistance to change is the reaction taken by people when they sense that a change that is occurring as a threat to them in some way. 

3. Exploration phase.

After people realize that they cannot stop the change, so they begin to try to understand why the change unsettles them and finds out the the best thing left in the situation. (Explore). 

4. Acceptance/commitment phase 

Acceptance and a commitment to the change is the final phase, that when people realize that fighting the change that is coming into their life is not benefit, they resign to the situation and accept it.  


“There are three constants in life, change, choice, and principles.” Stephen Covey, You should try to become aware of what phase you and your and colleagues are in. understanding the four phases of dealing with changes will help you get to the final phase faster.

To choose to ignore the change or refuse these choices may ultimately have a negative impact on your career. If you leading a change, face-to-face communication and listening to other concerns will ease the process.

E-mail: fhshasn@gmail.com


Related News